MS Visual C# 2008 express challenge

Feb 5, 2008 at 9:11 PM
Hi everyone,
I am a hobbyist programmer, I have tinkered around with CircleMUD for a few years to teach myself C++, and now would love to get my teeth into TigerMUD for some C# experience.
My first challenge is getting the source to compile with MS Visual C# 2008 express edition which I downloaded the other day..
First and foremost I should probably ask - does this version of Visual C# have everything I need to compile?
Here is what I have been doing:_
downloading the latest source folder (..trunk\tigermud\etc...) unzipping it into my programs folder
double click the Tigermud.sln file
C# 2008 then starts to convert the project, giving the following messages:
"source control provider associated with this solution could not be found"
"do you want to permanently remove the source control bindings from the projects?"
<no>
"some of the properties associated with the solution could not be read."
<ok>
78 errors, 38 warnings..
"(are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)"

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated as I know this sort of problem is really something to do with my setup/lack of knowledge!
Thanks guys!
Coordinator
Feb 6, 2008 at 6:41 AM
Welcome, glad you're interested in Tigermud!

Couple of things are probably happening. First is that Express Edition doesn't support Team Explorer integration (or any source control integration that I know of), so source control isn't available in the IDE. The project contains pointers to the source control server that your Express copy cannot read. Only solution is to run source control separately to checkin and out files, which is a pain but is the nature of the free VS versions.